Posted by: janetwright2guatemala | 08/04/2010

Empty home, Full heart

Nothing left, so it's time to go!

Truly strange to stand in an emptied out home …so much more spacious! Yesterday I watched my belongings get forklifted onto a truck, headed for long-term storage. Given the craziness of the past few days I am sincerely glad to have packing tasks and that stuff out of my life for awhile. All I need now is contained in 2 suitcases (yes! I managed to be just under the 80lbs weight limit) and some carryon items.

It felt wonderful on Monday to be acknowledged at Waltz Etc, one of my favorite weekly dances…I even got a round of applause in recognition of my upcoming Peace Corps service….that fills my heart! I feel motivated to offer the best of myself to my newly adopted home…although I guess we should always strive to be our best, yet somehow this seems to demand an even greater effort.

The countdown has begun!…only 5 days until my departure to D.C. to meet up with my fellow 30 Peace Corps trainees. One week from today I will land on Guatemalan soil…


Categories

